Catholic Ten Commandments

Exodus 20:1-17


God gave Moses the Ten Laws (or Commandments) on Mount Sinaï. Mount Sinai (2,285 meters) is a mountain in the southern Sinai Peninsula of Egypt. The Ten Commandments were written on Tablets of Stone supposedly by the hand of God.

  1. I am the Lord thy God. Thou shalt not have strange gods before me.

  2. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.

  3. Remember thou keep the Sabbath Day.

  4. Honor thy Father and thy Mother.

  5. Thou shalt not kill.

  6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.

  7. Thou shalt not steal.

  8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.

  9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's wife.

  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's goods.